My 2022 in Review

Uche Ibekwe
2 min readDec 23, 2022

--

This year was “that year” in many ways. I didn’t really realize how far I had come and how a blessing this year was until I decided to retrospect the year and count my blessings. What a year this has been fam!

So, here’s my year in words:

1. Had my best birthday ever in January this year.

2. Acquired two masters degrees this year, and graduated Top 1% in one.

3. Grew my LinkedIn from 1000 — 10,000+ followers.

4. Inspired and motivated several people through my writings, speaking and stories.

5. Got my HSE certifications and some other certifications.

6. Built beautiful connections on LinkedIn.

7. Went back to entrepreneurship, assembled an amazing team which I currently lead at Bellerion and we’re looking forward to exciting times next year.

8. Got a scholarship this year.

9. Took several paid courses and participated in various learning and self-development programs this year.

10. Became a McKinsey Forward Fellow.

11. Became a better problem solver and leader.

12. Made good money and lost even more, all of which helped me learn how to manage finances better.

13. Got my PVC and ready to vote in good governance next year.

And some more…

I’m overtly thankful to God. It wasn’t an easy year at all, especially for my family. But God remained faithful.

Dear diary, I’m sharing this to document my journey and growth this year. I realize where I was at the beginning of the year is definitely not where I am now. Little or not as it may seem, every win was a win.

Thank you 2022 for holding the door for me, for opening my eyes, for teaching me, for building me, for giving me beautiful people, for giving me moments, experiences and achievements worthwhile, especially as I wrap up my stay on the Gen Z floor. These and more I have achieved as a Gen Z, and at 25, and today I choose to celebrate myself and my little wins.

Next year January 28, we stroll into the Millenial floor. As life continues to get more intense, and amidst its vicissitudes, I can only trust God, because one with God would always be majority. I look forward to an amazing 2023, even though aging scares the hell out of me — yes I am hugely gerascophobic. I would however remain positive, hopeful and expectant of the beautiful things to come moving forward. The plan is to go harder next year.

Thank you all for being a part of my 2022 journey and I pray 2023 becomes our best year yet.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year in advance!!

Let’s do more next year! 🥂

#My2022Inwords

--

--

Uche Ibekwe

I am your fun neighborhood ambidextrous writer. In my publications, I bring you exciting stories, informative articles, personal experiences, reviews, and so on